LCDC Leadership



Chair Al Nevarez
Vice Chair Shelley Tamres
Vice Chair Lissa Savaglio​
Secretary  David Bauer
Treasurer Robert Latham


Standing Committee Chairs

Activities and Presence

Sonia Ballinger

Plan, organize, and conduct all special events and other social activities held by or on behalf of the LCDC with the exception of events centered around fundraising. To monitor, track, and document the public statements, votes, and actions of officials elected or appointed to represent or govern the people of Loudoun County. Notify LCDC membership of upcoming public input meetings called by elected assemblies, or other meetings or events at which matters of public interest are likely to be addressed, and at which public participation is expected or would be worthwhile. To solicit participation by LCDC Members and members of the public at any such meetings.
Candidate Recruitment Avi Fechter Identify and recruit viable Democratic candidates, and provide support for such candidates in running a successful campaign.
Communications Val Suzdak Responsible for internal and external communications. Maintains website and social media outreach.
Diversity and Outreach TBD To adopt and implement programs and strategies designed to (i) fulfill the LCDC’s outreach obligations under Section 3.1 of the Virginia Democratic Party Plan dated December 4, 2010, or any successor Plan; and (ii) diversify the makeup of the LCDC’s membership in order to improve the committee’s ability to connect with all of Loudoun’s residents.
Finance Kannan Srinivasan Assist the Treasurer to ensure that an internal audit of the operations of the LCDC is conducted at least once each year as directed by the LCDC Chair.
Former Chairs Advisory Evan Macbeth Provides knowledge and experience regarding running the LCDC, competing in the county and maintaining relationships with our major stakeholders.
Fundraising Sharafat Hussain To ensure that the LCDC has sufficient revenue to meet its obligations and to fully fund the adopted budget. To plan, organize, and conduct programs, meetings, and events for the explicit purpose of raising money for the committee. To establish fundraising benchmarks and to continually inform the Finance Committee on the progress of the LCDCs fundraising efforts.
Grassroots Engagement Guy Potucek To coordinate with grassroots groups within and outside of Loudoun County who share the Core Values of the LCDC for the purpose of: (i) promoting our shared Values and (ii) supporting the election of Democratic candidates running for office in Loudoun County who share those values.
Issues Chris Tandy Conducts research on local, state, and national issues of importance to LCDC’s mission and to Democratic candidates or office-holders. Collaborates on wording of Issues Resolutions and issues reports on resolutions with recommendation for adoption or denial.
Membership Karen Knobloch Increase membership in and volunteer support for the LCDC to the maximum extent feasible; to help members find roles within the LCDC and to assist other Standing Committee chairs in ensuring full staffing for all Committees. Track attendance at Membership Meetings and support calculation of quorum. Maintain the Membership database.
Precinct Ops Sylvia Glass Build and train a permanent network of committed Democratic volunteers sufficient to staff  Loudoun County precincts throughout each election day and to build a precinct-led system that understands and can service constituent issues and needs. Plan and implement programs to provide LCDC members with such training as is required to promote the election of Democrats to county, state, and federal office.
Young Dems TBD Plan and execute strategies designed to attract individuals under the age of 36 years to membership in and activities supporting the Democratic Party in general and the LCDC in particular including, where appropriate and consistent with these By-laws, high school and college age individuals who are not yet eligible to vote.


Sub-Committee Chairs

DemoCrafts under: Diversity and Outreach Charlotte McConnell Create buttons, T-shirts, etc. with Democratic issue messages.


Ad Hoc Committee Chairs

Presentations Joan Kowalski Arranges for guest speakers at our monthly Membership meetings.


Loudoun County Democratic Committee
PO Box 544, Leesburg, Virginia 20178 
Phone: 703-771-3366